Welcome to my new site

April 22, 2006 at 5:17 pm Leave a comment

I am not your regular rare book collector. Nor am I a dealer. Which puts me in a strange position within the whole trade. I am an IT professional working in the book trade for a well-known dealer. I have started this blog with an intention to share some of my thoughts about the trade with a leaning toward the technology used and the news that I get to overhear. As a result, I am going to keep my identity anonymous as many of my opinions may not tie into those of my employer. Nonetheless, I will try to keep this blog updated on a regular basis in the hope that the things that I use and come across are useful to other dealers, or to collectors, and hopefully to other people in similar roles to myself.

I suppose in some ways calling this a Rare Book Blog is a bit of a misnomer, because I'm not an expert on rare books. But I've been in the trade for quite a number of years now, and I know a few things both about the books themselves and about how the whole industry works. As such, I hope that some of the time at least, I am able to put my own technocentric views to one side and just chat about the books themselves. So bear with me while I get started and let's see how this whole thing works.

If you have any opinions about what I have to say, or you just want to share something with me, or you want me to link to your website. Just leave a comment and I'll get back to you.

Thanks for visiting and come back soon.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

So, what’s with the links and feeds

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

RSS New books at Shapero’s

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS New Books at Maggs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

