So, what’s with the links and feeds

April 25, 2006 at 10:37 am Leave a comment

I'm amazed at how many bookdealers haven't caught on to RSS (Really Simple Syndication). To begin with, it makes it really easy for people like me to add a whole bunch of dynamic links to your website on my website. I get free news and updates, and you get a bunch of links back to your site. That means that on one side, the search engines are going notice that your site is well linked to and therefore maybe a little more popular and on the other, it means that visitors to my site might see something they're interested in and click through to your site.

Also, you can use some really nifty RSS aggregation software to group together all of your favourite feeds on your workstation and receive updates as they happen. I use software like this all the time to keep track of technology news. If I was a dealer or collector, RSS is something I don't think I could live without.

Maggs has done some really beautiful work with their RSS feeds, breaking them down by department, so you can watch items you're particularly interested in. Bernard Shapero has given a feed of their most recent items, but could do with further breakdown on their site if they really want to use this technology. That said, I've noticed that Bernard Shapero includes images of their books in their feed, while Maggs doesn't even seem to have images of their stock on their site (which is something I think is critical in this trade, particularly if you're trying to sell online). Nonetheless, both of these dealers are embracing new technology and in the long run its going to help put them ahead of the pack. I hope to see other dealers catching on soon, and certainly it would be useful if some of the portals like ABE or the PBFA started doing the same. Its certainly something I'm going to be pushing for.

The other links on the page are to book dealers in the UK that I know and deal with, I would be happy to add links to any other book dealers or collector sites that are interested in being featured, but if my links list grows too long too quickly, I might have to trim them down or create a separate page for them. I'm also linking to portals and sites that I find interesting or useful with regard to the book trade. I'm going to try to leave off all my technology links as they're too specific and probably won't be useful to most people who visit this blog. If you want any suggestions though, you're welcome to ask for them!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Welcome to my new site Life is Beautiful

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

RSS New books at Shapero’s

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS New Books at Maggs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

