A wonderful book collecting story

July 24, 2006 at 2:30 pm 2 comments

Things have been really slow at the shop lately, and I’ve just been doing some routine maintenance and sorting out a few odds-and-ends that I haven’t got around to in a while. So I haven’t really got that much news to post here at the moment. Or at least, very little news that would be of interest to any readers of this blog. So instead, I’m just going to link to the most wonderful story about book collecting that I’ve read in a while.

A book collector buys a book from India for $20, and discovers his own personal goldmine!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The algebra of cataloguing Ex libris microscopical

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ian  |  July 26, 2006 at 1:12 am

    The link appears broken…your end or ther other? Great blog…love the blend of tech and old paper. I suffer the same affliction…sometime we should compare hardware kicking about the house.

    I object, btw, to your claim that that you do not make enough to build a collection (paraphrase). I specialize in collection development…money is not critical to a brilliant collection (admittedly, it can help. Let’s chat *g*.

    Finally, I must say, being wedged between the ILAB and and Maggs made my day (I know, I know…alpha…but still, way too nice).
    best,
    /ijk

    Reply
  • 2. rarebookblog  |  July 26, 2006 at 8:58 am

    Whoops… link fixed. Thanks for pointing that out Ian.

    Certainly I would be more than glad to chat about hardware and the way that we do stuff around the shop. I guess that was part of the reason I set up this blog. It would be good to get some perspective on what other booksellers get up to.

    Heh, moneywise, I guess I could probably build a reasonable collection if I put my mind to it. I’d be interested in any tips you could offer.

    Yes, at some stage, I need to work on my links. I just shot up a couple when I set this up, and haven’t touched it since. You were lucky to be one of the few rare book blogs I was reading at the time, and I threw your link in there. Usually, to find any of the others I click through to your page and follow your links through from there. Maybe I should be a bit more generous with the link love 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

RSS New books at Shapero’s

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS New Books at Maggs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

