My magickal hangover…

November 14, 2006 at 1:42 pm Leave a comment

When I was a student I had a massive leaning towards things occult and mysterious. I don’t suppose this is anything new in any sense of the word. Kids all over the world find themselves drawn to these things at some stage or another. Many years on, I have been transformed into a hard rationalist and a deep skeptic. In some senses I find this almost ironic, because that process was almost alchemical in nature. To me, it was something like turning lead into gold. And my good philosopher’s stone… turned out to be philosophy itself. Immersed in books during my university years, and long after, I gradually found myself led down the pathways of the entire western tradition of rationalism and logic. I guess this is how I found my way into technology, where these paths all seem to tangle together.

Still, frequently I find myself suffering from the hangover of my fascination with occult knowledge and secret societies and certainly all of the time that I devoted to reading up on this stuff has made the reading of many a fiction since a lot more pleasurable. And now and then I find myself retrospective in a sentimental sort of way, and I keep my eyes peeled for some other mysterious gem of occult knowledge that might pass my way.

And so, I was glad to see that the University of Wisconsin has taken the effort to scan and share every single page of an eighteenth century book that describes the symbols of the Rosicrucians in beautiful detail. With the massive correlations of symbolism and general historical associations, this book of rosicrucian symbology ties together wonderfully with the imagery and mythology that has grown up around the Knights Templar. For fans of Foucault’s Pendulum by Umberto Eco and Dan Brown’s Da Vinci Code, this is a really enticing find. Sadly, since I have found myself in the rare book trade, I have had little chance to page through very similar works.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Posting, packaging and selling online Disk failure! Wow, I love linux.

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

RSS New books at Shapero’s

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS New Books at Maggs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

