A few interesting links

December 7, 2006 at 6:20 pm 2 comments

Ian Kahn, kindly added me to his blogroll on Lux Mentis, which is one of the blogs that I keep a keen eye on. Ian has exceptional commentary on things happening in the trade and is outspoken about things that he feels strongly about. Of course, I noticed the trackback to his site and discovered a few new links for myself. And as is the nature of the web, these led me on to a few others that were just a little more obscure, so I’m gonna list them here briefly for your own amusement:

Firstly, Ian pointed out Hugh’s Blog, which seems like an excellent resource for information and which has now been added to my own list o’ links. Hugh is currently in the process of compiling a list of links that prove to be useful resources for people in the rare book trade. So head on over to his site and help him out with some suggestions of your own.

Billy Guffey’s Biblio-Technician blog has also been given special mention on Lux Mentis, and I must admit that I had only recently discovered it and was still just browsing through some of his posts. But Mr Guffey has also ventured into an interesting project, where he has set up a separate blog to stick up photographs of the interior and exterior of various bookshops as well as providing location and contact detail. I’m sure that this will be a pleasure to keep track of and will be a great bit of free advertising for shops all over the world. Thanks Bill.

I’ve also recently discovered Rare Book Spot, which is dedicated to reviewing (so far) modern first editions with a view to helping out new collectors. Unfortunately updates have been taking place monthly and I have not seen much activity since September, so I hope this isn’t going to be a dead end.

Other than that, not much more news from me. I will be off on leave pretty soon, so I may only get around to doing further updates next year. Thanks for all your support, and once again, thanks to Ian for the honorable mention. 😉

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Misdirection and the politics of the Internet Questionable Content at the Library

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ian J. Kahn  |  December 7, 2006 at 6:47 pm

    You are too kind and too modest…though clearly a poor judge of character. To be fair, you do show far more self control than I (hell, I couldn’t even resist the urge to post re iBuzz).

    It occurs to me…on the tech side of things, I’d love to know your thoughts re poratable printers. What I *want* is a simple b/w inkjet that can run on batteries. I used to own several (pre-usb)…but now I can’t seem to find any. I print invoices at bookfairs and while schlepping a laser printer is fun, there must be a better way…

    Keep up the great work.

    Reply
  • 2. rarebookblog  |  December 8, 2006 at 11:17 am

    Ian,

    It seems that the portable inkjet market suddenly got distracted by digital photography, and the result is that most portable printers are for photographs only.

    There is little doubt though that Canon has always led the portable printer market, and its Pixma IP90 is generally considered a favourite. Although I’ve been unable to determine whether it comes with the usual optional battery pack. So, another alternative down the Canon range is the Canon BJC85, for which you can purchase an optional battery pack.

    Much as I don’t like HP, they do have a number of options in the portable printer market, check out the HP450Ci Portable Deskjet, which looks pretty neat.

    Finally, if you’re looking for ultra-portable, I found this hunting around on the net. Unfortunately, you’ll only be able to print A6, but it does run off four standard AA batteries, which means that you don’t have to worry about battery replacement too much as you should be able to pick up batteries nearly anywhere. Printing on this thing looks very slow, and is probably something similar to old fax machines in that it prints using direct thermal heating. So your invoices would be on old fax paper 😉 Nonetheless, the printer can fit into your pocket, because its roughly the size of a large wallet. So, that sounds pretty cool.

    Generally, though, I would probably stick to Canon. They’ve been in the portable printer market for yonks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

RSS New books at Shapero’s

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS New Books at Maggs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

