Update

February 6, 2007 at 12:21 pm 10 comments

To regular readers of my blog, you may have noticed that there have not been any updates for a couple of weeks now. Toward the end of last month, my employer called me in for a meeting and brought the existence of this blog into discussion. He felt that this blog was potentially a conflict of interest and that he was not certain that he wanted me to continue writing for it. My response was that I felt that the blog as a whole provided a number of incoming links to his site, was written anonymously and represented my personal experiences working in the trade, as such I felt that it had no direct impact on his business and that if anything it helped to benefit him through cross-linking.

Unfortunately, my employer felt that by linking to other book dealers I was acting contrary to his interests as a dealer. While he has expressed an interest in using my writing skills in other areas of the business, and has suggested that I could continue writing for this blog if he can influence who I link to and which articles can remain online, I have decided that I would prefer to return my focus simply to getting my job done and I will no longer blog about anything to do with the rare book trade.  I will however leave this blog online, so that any of the notes that I have left up that have proved helpful to anybody else can continue to be used.

I appreciate my employer’s position and he has treated me very fairly and looked after me while I have worked for him. I thank you all for your readership and for your support while I shared what I could of my experiences. Good luck and happy blogging.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Your Old Books Revised Clarifications

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Matt  |  February 6, 2007 at 1:46 pm

    Crap!

    As a techy and booklover I’ve enjoyed reading this blog for a number of reasons.

    Its a pity your employer has reacted this way, rather than realising this blog probably generates traffic for his site. This inward facing attitude is something I feel can only harm the book collecting community.

    Reply
  • 2. Brenda  |  February 6, 2007 at 7:57 pm

    Thank you so much for your contributions. I began reading your blog last semester when I decided to go to Library School to become a rare books librarian. Your comments helped me to get up to speed in the two areas I am studing: technology and rare books.

    For every door that closes a window opens.

    Reply
  • 3. Lynn Wienck  |  February 7, 2007 at 4:29 pm

    I don’t think I can add anything to the comments; much has been stated and in more eloquent terms. It does seem a tragedy to silence a voice which provides useful information and educates those within the book world. Does the stamp of approval extend to the food you eat, the books you read, the films you watch, the software you use, the music to which you listen, your political viewpoints, and your personal correspondence?

    I hope your writing voice isn’t silenced; we would be the poorer for it.

    Lynn Wienck

    Reply
  • 4. rarebookblog  |  February 7, 2007 at 6:20 pm

    Thank you for your comments… I have read them, but have removed them as I do not want this to reflect poorly on my employer or on myself. I simply wanted to notify everyone as to why I was no longer posting. I might remove this post to avoid any further upset. Thanks.

    Reply
  • 5. Brenda  |  February 8, 2007 at 5:39 pm

    I am so sorry if post caused you any uncomfort. I meant it has a mere thank you.

    Reply
  • 6. smokescreen  |  February 22, 2007 at 5:50 pm

    not only should you get a medal for intelligence & eloquence but also for diplomacy – your employer should award you aplenty!!!!
    …. well, good luck all the same! maybe i see you popping up elsewhere …

    Reply
  • 7. Nigel Burwood  |  March 29, 2007 at 6:48 pm

    As Thomas Babington Macaulay (1800-1859)might have said ‘Every schoolboy knows that the nature of the web is traffic in and traffic out, that’s how people get to your site- through links.’

    I just had a request for a link from Heritage in LA to both our sites– are they bothered? I told them yes and yes again. Sad to see you go, it was a unique blog. Nigel

    Reply
  • 8. tovorinok  |  July 5, 2007 at 6:30 am

    Hello

    Great book. I just want to say what a fantastic thing you are doing! Good luck!

    G’night

    Reply
  • 9. Best CreditCard  |  January 7, 2008 at 8:21 am

    Hi there. You gotta tell me the best credit card site, please! My credit is burning, I owe $27, 800! Please advise where to apply for credit cards if my credit was good so far! I’ve heard they have nice service, but I’m not sure. Can you tell me what they really offer at

    discovery credit card in ga

    Ne72Ma9rod

    Reply
  • 10. JDIpMWAhJk  |  November 28, 2013 at 4:38 am

    order valium online valium 5 mg erowid – msj valium for sale

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

RSS New books at Shapero’s

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS New Books at Maggs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

